Friday, December 12, 2008

Dakota Series - Debbie Macomber

I have just finished reading another novel by Debbie Macomber which i borrowed from Yishun library. This time i have finished reading book 1 of the Dakota Series, "Dakota Born" which Debbie wrote few years ago. In this book, Debbie tells the story of Lindsay Snyder and her story is set in Buffalo Valley, North Dakota. Like so many small towns, it’s dying. Stores are boarded up, sidewalks cracked, houses wanting a coat of paint. But despite it all, there’s a spirit of hope here, of defiance. The few people still left in Buffalo Valley are fighting for the life of their town.

Lindsay spent time here during childhood vacations because her father’s family had settled in Buffalo Valley years ago and her grandmother lived there until her death. Now Lindsay returns to see the family house again, to explore family roots — and to re-evaluate the direction of her own life. Buffalo Valley needs her, and she needs to be there to forget a failed relationship. When the town advertises for a teacher, she applies; she’s qualified, willing — and the only applicant! It is in Buffalo Valley that she feels at home, discovered a long hidden family secret and finds Gage Sinclair, her soulmate in life. I also enjoy reading about the stories of other characters in Buffalo Valley and looks forward to reading more about them in the next 2 books in the series

Book 2 of the series " Dakota Home" continues with the story of Lindsay's closest friend, Maddy Washburn. Maddy has been suffering from burnout from her social worker job and decides to quit and join Lindsay in Buffalo Valley, hoping for the same kind of contentment. And the same kind of love . . .Lindsay has found.

Maddy meets Jeb McKenna, who has his left leg amputated after an accident 4 years ago and has been a loner since and avoids his family and the residents of Buffalo Valley. Jeb is a rancher, a man who's learned to endure, as the Dakota earth endures. He's raising bison and, by choice, lives a solitary life. Maddy unafraid and openhearted is drawn to Jeb, but he rejects her overtures. Until one of North Dakota's deadly storms throws them together.These few days and nights bring unexpected consequences for Maddy and Jeb. Consequences that, in one way or another, will affect everyone in Buffalo Valley.

Book 3 and the final book in the series, "Always Dakota", tells the story of local rancher Margaret Clemens. She is taking a chance on happiness, and going after what she wants for a change. And what she wants is marriage to cowboy, Matt Eilers. Her friends dont think Matt's such a bargain; neither did her father. But Margaret's aware of Matt's reputation and his flaws. Regardless of what her friends and family say, and despite all the rumors, Margaret wants Matt anyway. Oh . . . and she plans on having his baby, too.



Mary said...

Hi, it has been a while since I visited your blog. I like Debbie Macomber books and will look for this series. Nice reviews!

Lady Jan said...

Hi Mary,

thanks for your comment which reminded me that i'm supposed to make reservation for the last 2 books in the Dakota Series from my local library so that i can finish reading the series. There is just so many interesting books to read and too little time since i started working :>